Square Barye — это небольшой сквер (единственный на острове Сен-Луи!), открывшийся в 1938 год. Несмотря на свой скромный размер, здесь множество цветов и деревьев: Ливанский кедр, Ирландский тис, плакучие ивы, кипарисы, вязы.

Сквер, названный в честь Антуана-Луи Бари, скульптора-анималиста периода романтизма, украшен памятником, созданным из работ Бари в 1894 году. Дело в том, что знаменитый скульптор проживал по соседству (4 quai des Célestins), и, спустя 20 лет после своей смерти, его память почтили этим внушительным монументом. Монумент в свою очередь составлен другим французским скульптором — Лораном Маркестом.

Но на этом история не заканчивается.

Square BaryeОригинальный памятник, 1900-е.

Заглавные фигуры композиции — «Тесей, сражающийся с кентавром Бенором» и «Лев» были переплавлены во время Второй Мировой Войны. Стараниями частных инвесторов в 2011 (Тесей) и 2014 году (Лев) были созданы точные копии первоначальных бронзовых статуй. Они заняли свои законные места на пьедесталах, и скверу был возвращен исторический вид.

Ну а что же теперь? Теперь сквер Бари — это островок тишины и зелени, где всегда приятно отдохнуть по пути с Левого берега на Правый. И кроме того, это все еще лучшее место, чтобы насладиться вашим только что купленным мороженым Berthillon. Но об этом в другой раз.
Square BaryeSquare BaryeSquare BaryeSquare Barye

Адрес: 2 Boulevard Henri IV, 75004 Paris.

 

 

Follow

Get the latest posts delivered to your mailbox:

Square Barye is a little green area (and the only one!) of Île Saint-Louis, which was opened in 1938. Despite its rather modest size, a various amount of different plants and trees (Lebanese cedars, Irish yews, elms, weeping willows,.. ) can be found there.

The square is named after Antoine-Louis Barye, a French sculptor of animals of the Romantic Period, and adorned with a monument which was composed of his works in 1894. The fact is that the famous sculptor was living just nearby (4 quai des Célestins), so 20 years after his death he was honored by this monument which is made by Laurent Marqueste, another famous French sculptor.

But the story goes on.

Square BaryeThe original monument ca 1900.

The biggest figures of the monument — Theseus Combating the Centaur Bianor and the Lion — were melted down during the occupation in World War II, but in 2011 (Theseus) and 2014 (The Lion) almost exact copies of the original bronze statues was cast and put back at the top of the pedestals.

And what now? Now Square Barye is a lovely quiet place with benches, playgrounds and flowerbeds, and it’s always nice to have some rest there during your way from rive gauche to rive droite. Besides it all, it’s still the best place to enjoy your Berthillon ice cream.
Square BaryeSquare BaryeSquare BaryeSquare Barye

Address: 2 Boulevard Henri IV, 75004 Paris.

 

 

Follow

Get the latest posts delivered to your mailbox: